The Second Magpie

JazzCakes100: Postcards, Impossible Wish No. 1

In Uncategorized on May 15, 2011 at 04:31

Over the last few months I completed a postcard piece for another JazzCakes100. The exhibition has just finished showing at the Liverpool Royal Standard Gallery (7th – 14th May) and is to be shown again at the Milkwood Gallery in Cardiff from the 2nd – 25th of June, I hope to be able to make it to that one!

Statement from Jazzcakes:

The JazzCakes100:Postcards project is one of a series of projects organised and curated by JazzCakes with the aim of bringing fine artists, designers, photographers, writers, any practitioners within the arts together to create a diverse collection of works with a common theme. Each participant has created a piece of work based upon a given number between 1 and 100. The ‘postcard’ acts as a vessel for thoughts and images based around the idea of communication, community and networks.
http://www.jazzcakes.com/home.html

My number for this series was 1.

Artist’s Statement: 

Impossible Wish No. 1

This piece began when I unearthed a pile of vintage postcards at an antique market. The lone figure in this one intrigued me and I decided to write her a letter. The letter is printed on acetate which is framed by a mirror-like shape, a realisation that I am really writing to a former self.

If I was granted one wish it would be to time travel, searching for a century where I might feel a little less lost than I do in this one.

Materials:

Acetate, letraset, paper, postcard 

Text  reads:

‘I am lost here, shall we meet our impossible wishes wandering through seconds, hours, years? Wish I was there.’

Leave a Reply

